Four Mayo projects to benefit from Town and Village Renewal Scheme fund  

Seven Mayo projects to benefit from Town and Village Renewal Scheme fund 

Seven towns and villages in Mayo will benefit from over €1m in funding under the Town and Village Renewal Scheme.

Deputy Alan Dillon said this is fantastic news for the Mayo Towns and villages who have been awarded funding by the Department of Community and Rural Development.

The Mayo communities to benefit are as follows:

  • Belmullet: €500,000 for the redevelopment of the existing semi-derelict Canal House to provide a dedicated youth facility, base for outdoor activities and a link to the existing canal bank walk.
  • Ballycastle: €245,843 for the refurbishment of a vacant, former woodworking building, the upgrading of the building to a state-of-the-art audio-visual and lecture theatre to complement the newly developed Eco-Campus environmental facility in Ballycastle.
  • Balla: €120,000 for the development of a community park in the village centre and a community and enterprise hub in the vacant courthouse building.
  • Partry: €100,000 for the repurposing of a community owned building for remote working and development of a community part in the centre of the village.
  • Ballyhaunis : €100,000 – Funding under the Streetscape Enhancement Measure in Ballyhaunis.
  • Ballina: €49,500 – Plan and design a co-ordinated approach to lighting programme “Light Up Ballina” (may include: traditional christmas lighting, Frosty Festival hosted by Scouts, Jackie Clarke Collection festivities, lights spectacular for 300th anniversary of establishment of the town.
  • Louisburgh: €50,000 – Condition and architectural surveys, Visitor experience design, architectural stages 1 to 4 RIAI for the Grace O’Malley Visitor Experience. (20,000 already spent on feasibility study)

Deputy Dillon said: “I am looking forward to these substantial projects being brought to fruition in Belmullet, Ballycastle, Ballyhaunis, Ballina, Balla, Partry and Louisburgh. They will be of enormous benefit to each of these local communities. I wish to thank my colleague, Minister for Rural and Community Development, Heather Humphreys TD, Local Councillors Cyril Burke, Donna Sheridan, Gerry Coyle, Jarlath Munnelly and Peter Flynn who have worked tirelessly for these areas and lobbied hard to myself and Minister Humphreys for his funding.

I wish to thank Mayo County Council for their efforts and co-operation in engaging with local communities to identify these projects and urge them to assist in developing them without delay.”